Parameswaran Iyer Named New CEO of Niti Aayog

Parameswaran Iyer Named New CEO of Niti Aayog

Parameswaran Iyer takes over as the new CEO of Niti Aayog as Amitabh Kant is set to retire after 6 years towards the end of June 2022

Parameswaran Iyer, Indian civil servant known for leading the Swacch Bharat Mission, has been appointed the new CEO of Niti Aayog. Iyer takes over from Amitabh Kant who is leaving Niti Aayog after serving at the government think tank for 6 years. As per a notification issued by the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT), Iyer will be appointed as the CEO of Niti Aayog for an initial period of two years.

Iyer was appointed in 2016 by the Government of India to implement Swachh Bharat Mission, the country-wide sanitation campaign to eliminate open defecation and improve solid waste management.Iyer’s aim was to achieve the strict goals under the mission such as building 110 million toilets in 5 years, was unconventional and “non-bureaucratic”, which increased efficiency and delivery and led to the success of the program. In 2019, India was declared as Open defecation free on Mahatma Gandhi’s 150th birthday Anniversary. India built 100 million toilets in about 0.6 million villages, and another 6.3 million in its cities.

About Former Niti Aayog CEO Amitabh Kant

Kant, 1980 batch retired IAS officer of Kerala cadre, has been credited as the key driver behind highly successful initiatives such as ‘Incredible India’, ‘Start up India’, and ‘God’s Own Country’. Amitabh Kant also  serves as a Director in the board of the National Highways Authority of India, Member of the Digital Communications Commission of India, Director of the Board of the India International Convention Centre, member of the National Statistical Commission of India, Member of the National Industrial Corridor Development and Implementation Trust (NICDIT) and the Chairman of the Executive Council of the National Institute of Labour Economics, Research and Development

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *