Padma Bhushan

Natarajan Chandrasekaran, Satya Nadella, and Sundar Pichai Receive Padma Awards

Several IT industry veterans have received the Padma awards this year, and some of the notable awardees are Natarajan Chandrasekaran, Satya Nadella, and Sundar Pichai

Padma Awards, one of the highest civilian Awards of the country, were announced and several notable personalities from the IT industry have received the award this year. The awards are announced on Republic Day every year, and are given in various disciplines of activities such as art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, and civil service. ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field.

IT Personalities who have Received the Padma Bhushan Awards

Some of the pre-eminent personalities who have received the Padma Bhushan awards for their contributions towards Trade and Industry are as follows:

Natarajan Chandrasekaran, CEO, Tata Sons

Satya Narayana Nadella, CEO, Microsoft

Sundararajan Pichai, CEO, Alphabet and Google

Other notable personalities who have received that Padma Bhushan Awards are Cyrus S Poonawalla, managing director, Serum Institute of India and Krishna Ella and Suchitra Ella, Bharat Biotech, the company that has produced and manufactured Covaxin. Cyrus Poonawalla and Krishna Ella have been recipients of Lifetime Achievement winner of BioSpectrum Asia magazine. 

These awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March or April every year. This year the President has approved conferment of 128 Padma Awards including 2 duo case wherein the Award is counted as one. The list comprises 4 Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan and 107 Padma Shri Awards. 34 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 10 persons from the category of Foreigners, and 13 posthumous awardees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *