Advertisment

Google to commence Inactive Accounts Deletion from Today

As the date of 1st December approaches, Google users may start losing their inactive accounts and associated digital data from today.

author-image
Punam Singh
Updated On
New Update
Google Inactive account

As the date of 1st December approaches, Google users may start losing their dormant accounts from today. The tech giant has previously announced its initiative to clean up inactive accounts. In this move they will not just delete the accounts but also all associated data, including photos, Gmail messages, calendar appointments, drive documents, contacts records, and YouTube videos.

Advertisment

This move of Google is taken amidst of its security concerns as these inactive accounts are considered more vulnerable to hacking. As these accounts often rely on outdated or reused passwords, lack two-factor authentication, and receive fewer security checks. Hence, by deleting such accounts that have been inactive or not signed in for at least two years Google aims to minimize the risk of unauthorized access.

How to preserve your Google accounts?

Although the company has decided to delete these accounts there is still a way to preserve your older Google accounts through a simple process. In terms to ensure an account remains active users need to sign in at least once every two years. For this various activities can be counted as login interactions such as

Advertisment
  • Reading or sending email
  • Using Google Drive
  • Watching a YouTube video
  • Downloading an app from the Google Play Store
  • Performing a Google Search
  • Using Google credentials to sign in to a third-party app or service

Here, it is important to note that only personal Google accounts are subjected to deletion, excluding business or school accounts.

How to recover forgotten account details?

Advertisment

Google has provided recovery options for those users who have an old Google account but can’t recall their login details. If you’ve forgotten your password, there is a password recovery tool where you can answer security questions to confirm ownership.

Even if you can’t remember the email address, Google offers an account recovery tool requiring a phone number or a recovery email address associated with the account.

Conclusion

Users with dormant Google accounts are suggested to act swiftly to secure their digital footprints as Google initiates this account cleanup process. A few minutes of proactive measures can save your years of digital memories and information from being permanently erased.

Advertisment