Facebook unfriend app ‘Unfriend Alert’ can steal your data

Facebook Unfriend appAnti-virus firm, MalwareBytes, has warned users against installing a Facebook application called ‘Unfriend Alert’ which claims to alert users whenever someone has unfriended them. The app steals user information including login credentials.

Today, many apps allow users to login using their Facebook credentials. After investigation, Malwarebytes has found out that the app sends in your login details not to Facebook but to a site called yougotunfriended.com. What’s more, the application also does not show up in the list of Apps on your Facebook page

Malwarebytes recommends users to remove this potentially unwanted program and also change the  Facebook password. You can do this under “Settings”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *