Dataquest Awards

A series of discussions and debates by a distinguished panel preceded the
selection of this years Dataquest awardees. True to tradition, last years IT
Person of the Year, Lakshmi Narayanan, chaired the panel meeting held on July
2009 at New Delhi.

Nominations were sought from panelists, editors and industry persons. The
first round of deliberations on the nominations happened over email, followed by
the panel meet. The panel was supported by research from the Dataquest editorial

A discussion and elimination process helped shortlist around a dozen
probables. New names were added and debated upon as per the jury process.

After much deliberation, the panel unanimously named the Government Appointed
Board of Satyam as the Dataquest IT Persons of the Year 2009, and Azim H Premji,
chairman, Wipro was conferred the Lifetime Achievement Award, and Arvind Rao,
CEO, OnMobile was bestowed with the Pathbreaker of the Year Award.

Dataquest Awards Jury, 2009: (Standing: L-R)
Ganesh Ayyar, CEO, MphasiS; Ninad Karpe, CEO & MD, Aptech; Pradeep Gupta,
CMD, CyberMedia; Sanjeev Aggarwal, MD, Helion Ventures; Som Mittal,
president, Nasscom; Sunil Kapoor, director; Fortis Hospitals, Rajasthan

(Sitting L-R): Shyam Malhotra, MD, CyberMedia; Neelam Dhawan, MD, HP India;
Lakshmi Narayanan, chairman, Cognizant; R Chandrashekhar, Secretary (IT), GoI


Past Winners: IT
Person of the Year
l 1993:
N Vittal  l 1994: Ashok Soota
l 1995: Shiv Nadar l 1996:
NR Narayana Murthy l 1997: Dewang Mehta
l 1998: RS Pawar l 1999:
Azim H Premji l 2000: B Ramalinga Raju
l 2001: Pramod Mahajan l 2002:
Sunil Bharti Mittal l 2003: Deepak Puri
l 2004: S Ramadorai l 2005:
Kiran Karnik l 2006: Nandan Nilekani
l 2007: Ajai Chowdhry l 2008:
Lakshmi Narayanan

Lifetime Achievement
l 1995:
FC Kohli l 1996: N Seshagiri
l 1997: Prof V Rajaraman
 1998: Prof HN Mahabala l 1999: Maj Gen
A l Balasubrahmanian l 2000:
Dr S Ramani l 2001: Dewang Mehta
l 2002: Sam Pitroda l 2003:
Dr Vijay Bhatkar l 2004: N Vittal
l 2005: Hemant Sonawala l 2006:
Arun Kumar l 2007: NR Narayana Murthy
l 2008: Prof DB Phatak

Pathbreaker of the Year

l 1997:
RH Patil
l 1998:
Chandrababu Naidu
l 1999:
l 2000:
Ajit Balakrishnan
l 2002:
Raman Roy
l 2003:
Ashok Jhunjhunwala
l 2004:
l 2005:
R Chandrasekhar
l 2006:
MCA 21
l 2007:
Project Bhoomi
l 2008:
Sanjeev Bikhchandani

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *